Quick Enquiry
Hong Kong Quality Migrant Admission Scheme

Hong Kong located near to China’s south coast and was until 1997 part of the UK, after which time China established its sovereignty over it. Its population mainly comprises of 93.6% ethnic Chinese and 6.4% from other different groups. Its majority population is from China’s mainland. Hong Kong Quality Migrant Admission Scheme Hong Kong also embraces immigration like some other advanced countries of the world. Its immigration program/scheme is known as the ‘Quality Migrant Admission Scheme’. The ‘Quality Migrant Admission Scheme’ is an ‘entry-based, quota-binding, migrant admission scheme’ (i.e. the Hong Kong Quality Migrant Admission Scheme) set up with the objective of attracting and retaining talented individuals who satisfy and meet certain explicitly stated criteria. There are also some ‘prerequisites’ of/for the scheme which every applicant must meet to be considered for this ‘Quality Migrant Admission Scheme’. In addition, there are two tests, a ‘general points test’ and an ‘achievement-based points test’, in either of which an applicant must compete with the other applicants in the ‘Quality Migrant Admission Scheme’. Once successful for Hong Kong immigration in/through either of the tests, the successful applicants can bring their spouse and also unmarried dependent children who are under the age of 18 into the country. This is of course, so, provided that they are capable of supporting and accommodating all of these dependants using (or, with the help of) their own finances. The scheme is open to nationalities of most countries except a few, such as Afghanistan, Cambodia, Cuba, etc. All applicants must meet or fulfill some pre-requisites pertaining to factors such as age (above 18 years), financial capability (minimum financial means to support himself/herself and his/her dependents), good character, language proficiency (Chinese i.e. either of Putonghua or Cantonese or English), and some basic educational qualifications (i.e. atleast a basic degree from a university which is recognized in the home country) to be able to apply to and compete for the ‘Quality Migrant Admission Scheme’ . Further to fulfilling the above basic criteria, the applicant can choose either the ‘general points test’ or the ‘achievement-based points test’. There are in all 5 criteria and ‘a number of points’ under each criterion under the ‘general points test’. These criteria are ‘age’, ‘academic/professional classification’, ‘work experience’, ‘language proficiency’ and ‘family background’. And, points are awarded under each criterion for each applicant. And and but, those who pass the tests still have to compete with other applicants under the same quota for Hong Kong immigration. In the ‘achievements-based test’, applicants have to have some special achievement under their credit such as a ‘Nobel prize’, maybe, or an ‘Olympic medal’, etc.  But, even if the applicants pass either of the tests (i.e. suit or score high on the test(s)), the final decision under either of the tests for the eligible applicants is actually made by  a selection committee also called as the ‘Advisory Committee’), which has within it official and non-official members chosen by the Chief Executive of the HKSAR. Finally, after the final decision is made by the selection committee, an ‘Approval-in-principle’ letter is given/sent to the applicant further to which the selected applicant has to submit his/her original documents for verification, and then an ‘entry visa’ under the scheme is also then finally granted to the applicant. For more updates follow us @ Facebook

Share your Comments
Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
Chat Icon